The problem with being “exact”


Have you ever, been told “This customer wants to match what they had printed before, I think the font is called Serif Bold.” Well I have. For one thing, Serif is a type of font not the name of one. Ok fine, it looks like a font I have seen before. So, I start out with an odd-little habit I have to identify fonts.

My guy calls it twitch-response, as in when I am playing a racing game and my fingers react to what I am seeing before my mind even really processes the info. I type in the word, or distinctive letter, grab my font list… and start twitching it downward very very rapidly so everything kind of flashes across my screen. I’ve had people need to look away because I am looking so fast. Somehow, I still manage to stop for fonts that are in some way similar.

For this particular project I stopped at Copperplate Gothic because its serifs almost match what I have in front of me. I say almost because they aren’t sharp enough, and the E doesn’t have serifs at the top and bottom pointing up and down… I then stopped at a font called Finesse because it is thick, bold and the K has the same shape. None of the fonts [even after a third very slow meticulous search] were a match.

I have over 5,000 fonts on my work machine, and not a single font match!

Next step, one which I really hate doing because I can spend 3 hours jerking around with it before comming within half a mile of the font I am looking for is visiting sites like Identifont. Supposedly they are to “help” you identify, but, none have -ever- worked.

This is where I stopped and decided to slack off for a minute. The fact that I have to go online, and search for the next three hours or so for one specific font does not make me happy. Under normal circumstances I’d say, “Well the logo is easy, I only need to copy exact so let me scan and redraw.” Too bad they want words added to it………… Can’t add letters, which arn’t there by re-drawing. /sigh.

Leave a Reply

