Review: Week


Not much on the brain this week (sadly) but let me recap.

Weekend was the Lan Party, and Aphrodite newly refreshed from California brought me a gift…

Coffee, from California, its the cup which will never loose a spoon. (Unless of course I remove said spoon and misplace it which is certainly NOT the cup's fault)

Coffee, from California, its the cup which will never loose a spoon. (Unless of course I remove said spoon and misplace it which is certainly NOT the cup's fault)

Monday: LAN party wrapped up late this evening, it was fun, but tiring.

My Guy, and a Friend in the computer-room during the LAN Party (playing UT3)

My Guy, and a Friend in the computer-room during the LAN Party (playing UT3)

Tuesday: Lounged around the house trying to re-adjust to the sudden silence. I ran out to Barnes and Nobles and grabbed BloodHound which was finally out. As I picked up the book I was bombarded with a parent and her children asking if it and the author was any good. I answered but wished later that I’d asked the child in question more questions to see what sort of book she’d really like. (Her mother was getting sick of the all-vamp trend that Twilight had started) so I was just so floored that I mumbled some inane response. The Cashier commented on liking my hat.

Wensday: I finished BloodHound before Aikido. (Yes, it was good – very good) I walked into Aikido and found out we had new mats, these had a lot more ridges in between the pads than we were used to. A lot of us kept poking our toes at the spots in between the mats, concerned that sometime in the future someone would get their toes caught in between. Well I was nowhere near a ridge, but I still managed to hurt my toe by catching my big-toe’s nail on the mat’s and crunching it a bit as I stood up.

Is it just me or does this awesome hummer look like a carriage?

Is it just me or does this awesome hummer look like a carriage?

Thursday: “No one ever told me hurting your big toe could make you limp as bad as hurting your ankle or knee.” I went to Barnes and Nobles half out of boredom again searching for yet another book. The cashier commented about my being back so soon, but I purchased 30$ worth of books for my niece from the clearance rack. Nothing for me.

Friday: I woke up at 8:30am and  took my niece in to work with me. It was a bit crazy but with little things going wrong on a time-sensitive order I didn’t have much choice but to go in early and help everyone take care of it. AaliyaNora was a darling and played nicely until I was all set around noon. Then we went to Barnes and Nobles where she fell asleep in her stroller. (Forcing me to hang out for over two hours!) The cashier once again noticed I was back (maybe I should stop wearing the hat, ah well he’s a nice gentleman) so I bought [Hex and the Single Girl] and [Passion Unleashed] and wandered home to read.

(still friday) I got  to page 66-67 and had to stop because I was laughing so hard. NOT because that particular page of the book was insanely funny, but because I can’t seem to get away from “human sushi platters” after a discussion that took place between my guy, and an aquiantance. One which involved laying me out on a table with ginger nipples and sushi… I wasn’t able to come up with a witty response at the time. However It came up a few times (from me talking about the incident, and from him talking to people about it) and I STILL can’t come up with a witty response. Just “Oh, well… that sounds neat, sure.” Now even the BOOK has to haunt me! I think it’s becoming a sign that I should be a sushi platter.

(still friday) Aphrodite and another 2 friends stopped by, and shared my laughter (after i explained the backstory of course) and some tentative plans were laid to collaberate on some steampunky accessories with one of those friends. (Did I mention that I organized all my art and craft supplies they all have nice homes now?)

[note: My guy just came over for a kiss, he started blowing through his lips like a fish so I started leaning back, THEN he started doing the fish lips thing… I leaned back even further… THEN he was like OK normal kiss… and halfway to that kiss we both looked away laughing… I was laughing so much]

So then I finished my book (I decided to recap the books in a seperate post) and that brings us up to date.

Today, Saturday: Woke up, went out for coffee with my sister and niece. It was a bit odd to be in Domenico’s again after having not-gone there in so long. The place was mostly empty for 1pm which seemed a bit odd to me. There were some good smells comming from a new resturant across the street (The Balkan) so I really need to make a mental note to go there. None of the friends I contacted were able to meet up at the cafe, so I just pondered away my time by blowing bubbles at the imp-child who tried to eat them. I swear the child is afraid of no-one, when Rainbow came in she happily watched him play a few notes on his guitar, and he made a few faces. She laughed. One of the others in the cafe marvled over this fact as well “She’s not afraid of you at all!” Nor should she be. Rainbow, is a resident of utica that no one should be afraid of, he’s entertaining and even a bit famous online (as I recently found out)… So why was that something to marvel over? I am not sure.

My Sister and AaliyaNora my niece her daughter @ dominicos cafe

Then I came home, took a nap, and sent my address and phone number off to Greg who’ll need that info when he finally departs from Massachusetts. From todays conversation he might be ready to embark on his great trip (AND SO, I DEPART. The challenge: to bike from the Atlantic to the Pacific, getting one-day jobs to support myself along the way.) as early as next week if all goes well. Which if all goes well will put him in Utica (and here) sometime in early may. Without a reliable internet connection on the way the address and phone number bit will come in handy. Suprisingly enough he’s the first person to ever contact me through the couch surfing community despite the fact I’ve had the posting up since at least september.

[When it gets closer to his visit I might dedicate a post to my past experiences hosting people, from friends and friends-of-friends to complete strangers and bands.]

At any rate, we’re looking forward to his visit. Also crossing my fingers that Utica has some day-jobs for him, with the economy the way it is this is the best and worst possible time to run a trip like this.

Then I made dinner (still saturday duh) and while making dinner started toying with one of the craft projects I want to do. Note to self, get the proper equipment to sew through leather. My stitches look like crap, and it’s tough work. I should get my sewing machine going again (to work on a few other things too) I wonder if titanium needles will stitch through leather if I set the machine to a slow speed? Worth a shot. Oh, I burnt my beef.

I was going through my pictures off my phone/camera to get the few I posted above… If you’d like to see some random photo’s from other times click the MORE.

The Daffodils are telling me spring is here, and sadly so are the weeds.

The Daffodils are telling me spring is here, and sadly so are the weeds.

The wire was CLOTH!

The wire was CLOTH!

The Mess of wires from the OLD bathroom Cabinet.

The Mess of wires from the OLD bathroom Cabinet.

How many Pierogi's and how much Kapusta did I make for AaliyaNora's Birthday Party? Care to Guess?

How many Pierogi's and how much Kapusta did I make for AaliyaNora's Birthday Party? Care to Guess?

Claiming spots in the field before the main-set's Slipknot/Disturbed/Dragonforce @ Darien lake

Claiming spots in the field before the main-set's Slipknot/Disturbed/Dragonforce @ Darien lake

Nightwish @ Poughkeepsie 08

Nightwish @ Poughkeepsie 08

The window in my bathtub needs to be stripped and painted, the ceiling painted, and.... too much.

The window in my bathtub needs to be stripped and painted, the ceiling painted, and.... too much.

I will post up more of the random pictures I found some other time… In Closing…

img_0130A sideways picture of my residence.

Leave a Reply

