California Recap


I have been back in New York for two weeks now and I can not wait to leave again. Anyway, here is a little recap of my trip to California.

a warning on the deck of the USS Midway

a warning on the deck of the USS Midway

While in San Diego I spent an afternoon on an aircraft carrier, the USS Midway. When it comes to anything dealing with history I can not help myself. So for me, running around a massive ship first sent out during WWII was comparable to a child spending a day at Walt Disney World. I then ventured around the Gaslamp Quarter where I discovered The Field, a lovely Irish Pub, where I had lunch and of course a little Irish coffee.

boat art in La Jolla

boat art in La Jolla

I walked around La Jolla for hours, taking everything in. From the seals that took over a beach to “boat art” on a building. I figured since it was long overdue that I should do some shopping. So my personal tour guide while in San Diego, aka my younger sister, took me to a mall. Upon arriving at the mall I was quite thrown off,.. In the northeast a mall consists of several stores all under one roof with long corridors all leading to one central point. This was not what I found.

outdoor mall

outdoor mall

Instead I discovered that the long corridors I am accustomed to were out in the open. Needless to say I found being able to walk around in the sun while shopping quite refreshing. This little trip also resulted in me spending a couple hundred dollars on new clothing, I am blaming it all on the sun.

bamboo!

bamboo!

And of course I could not go to San Diego without going to Balboa Park and the infamous zoo. Balboa Park was wonderful. All the architecture and museums, my inner-geek was delighted. The highlight was the artist village. Paintings, sculptures, jewelry, etc. that were all so unique. If I had not been flying across the country and did not have limited room in my luggage, I would have been leaving with several paintings.

just a few of the pictures I took at the San Diego Zoo

just a few of the pictures I took at the San Diego Zoo

Since the San Diego Zoo seems to have everything I decided to go on a quest, to find an orange elephant. I spent over six hours walking around this massive jungle oddly located in the middle of city, I honestly kept forgetting I was in a city. Quite sadly six hours was not enough time to see the entire place, however it was more than enough time to take over 200 pictures of various animals. So yes … my quest, after hours of searching and when I thought I had discovered the one thing you might not be able to find at the zoo …

Duncan, the orange elephant!

Duncan, the orange elephant!

Yes, they had one orange elephant hidden amongst other elephants! With the assistance of Reality and Aura he has been named Duncan and will be joining me in my future cross country adventure.

Anyway, it was off to Palm Springs for a little thing known as The Dinah, the largest lesbian party on the planet. I have also decided that since it was my “spring break” so to speak, that I shall not share what happened. Simply what happened in Palm Springs stays in Palm Springs. A girl can’t share all her secrets.

So there it is, a little glimpse into my lovely vacation that I did not want to have end.

with a view like this, it was quite painful to leave

with a view like this, it was quite painful to leave

Leave a Reply

