Yummy, Lazy Golabkis


I have been craving Golabkis (go-wump-keys) aka “Pigs in a Blaket” or “Polish Cabbage Rolls.” But, I am not too keen on spending a whole day to make them properly. Since I’ve faced this dilema before there is a really simple solution: Make them the lazy way.

Now my grandmother’s Golabki recipie never got written down. So I had my aunt Josephine teach me. The sauce she makes is a bit different than I recall my grandmothers being. So every time I make them for myself, I keep trying to remember the flavor of my grandmothers and (with my mothers help) I think I’ve gotten it about as good as it’s going to get.

The recipies I find online don’t even quite come close, so here.

Lazy Golabki in 30 minutes.

Step 1: Steam in a rice cooker or on the stove.

  1. 2 cups of uncooked white rice washed until it rinses clear.
  2. 1 small head of cabbage chopped.

Step 2: Fry in a deep frying pan.

  1. 1lb ground Beef (or half beef and half pork)
  2. Season with a lot of Pepper and a dash of salt.

Step 3: Combine and Heat in the deep frying pan.

  1. 1 can Tomatoe Soup (10.75oz)
  2. 2 cans Tomatoe Juice (5.5oz)
  3. 1 can Tomatoe Sauce (28oz) (for added flavor use a can that has italian herbs/seasons)
  4. The Steamed Cabbage

Step 4: Serve over Rice.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Yummy, Lazy Golabkis

  1. Great PostCan you please tell me why i keep getting an error when trying to subscribe to your feed?Thanks

Leave a Reply

