Frustrated on a Monday Morning…


It’s summer, and up here in Central New York State it doesn’t last very long.

We’ve had some beautiful days, and some rainy ones – the latter of which I am happy for even if they do crush my being out-doors to zilch. Our grass had gone brown and drought was (and is) a serious concern.  I have been spending as much time as I can out-side. Especially on the Friday-Sunday weekends that I have off from work.

I spent the most recent Guild War’s beta weekend camping at Verona Beach State Park. I got sunburnt while building sand-castles and now have a lovely white stripe running down the center of my back from my braid. I rode my bike, cooked over an open fire, and slept on a rather uncomfortable fold-out couch in the trailer. Since I’ve pre-ordered the game and participated in at least 2 Guild War’s weekends I wasn’t too upset about missing this one in favor of summer.

Then I missed the free-week of play (ending yesterday 7/29) that Rift had announced. I would have joined in that in a heartbeat because I did enjoy Rift quite a bit. I had planned to actually. Instead I found myself wiped out from camping and feeling like I was in serious need of a vacation.

Then there was my best-friend’s Bridal Shower on Saturday and all the last minute running around to make sure everything was squared away. Finally on Sunday I was free. 100% day to myself, instead of trying to download and install Rift for the single day – I snatched a few hours in something else then spent the rest of it attempting to watch the Olympics.

I say attempting because NBC has managed to lock-down who gets to watch it if you’re in the USA very neatly.

Every site I was able to find refereed me back to  NBC Olympics.

They had TON’s of options, Live Streaming, Replays of event’s I had missed (which was actually what I wanted) and Highlights (short little clips that generally only show Americans, or medal winners.) In order to watch the Live or Replays – I had to prove I had a cable, dish or whatever package that included the NBC station. There wasn’t even an option to pay a fee in order to get access for Olympics week.

It’s a terrible, horrible, and shameful way to handle watching the Olympics.

Since getting the few stations I’d actually watch (History, HGTV, DIY, Discovery) requires me to get some massive and expensive package. I haven’t bothered. If I find myself really wanting to I can generally go on their websites, Hulu, or just go over to my mothers house and use one of her TV’s. Which is what I had to do in order to see anything about the Olympics.

Shouldn’t something a significant as the Olympics be available to EVERYONE?

I’ve been Stone walled by NBC and the internet… Feeling rather icky about that situation I was relegated to heading over to my mothers, sharing a pizza, and watching only what was currently live on TV. I could use her cable login to prove she has NBC to watch some events online after they had happened but… At that point I was just frustrated and I had no patience left to do so.

I should have given up, hopped on Rift and done some PvP therapy. OR jump in any of the Betas I had access too. Which I had done for a few hours prior to the Olympics-Watching mess.  There are a lot of interesting games in various phases of testing. Some of these require a NDA (Non-Disclosure Agreement) and that is part of why it may appear as if I’ve dropped off the face of the earth in terms of talking about games. It depends on the game but dates/times for testing can be tricky to catch unless they have their servers up 24/7.

Right at this very moment – none of them are up. It seems like while I was out enjoying the sun, everything became a Beta-Weekend. Which would be great if it was over the winter and I was reluctant to go outside. Summer? Not so much.

So here I find myself with a few hours on this lovely Monday morning before going back to work. Kicking myself and feeling sad that I missed the time-schedule’s for games I wanted to test and play. Unwilling to fight with the internet to do anything Olympics-related. So, I guess that leaves my barring my teeth and growling… At least this means I will have even more time to catch up on reading the pile of books at my disposal.

Happy Monday.

Leave a Reply

