GW2: Playing in the Rain.


Guild Wars 2 head-start (for those of us who pre-ordered) began on August 25th. It has been 15 days of playing for me, and I have not spent the entirety in front of my PC. In those 15 days I’ve stumbled over level after level. I’m not particularly good at questing, or grinding out levels. Usually I am dead-last to arrive at max level.

Today I am a level 71 necromancer. 71!! and Level cap is 80!

I have a mere 37% of this world complete.

As with any release there were a few bugs, and the auction house was down for days on end. Even so I am happy with what I have seen so far. I don’t have to quest, or grind. I can just look at my still vastly uncovered map and pick a spot to explore. As I am wandering around I’m picking up EXP from:

  • Chopping down Trees, Mining Ore, and Picking Plants.
  • Uncovering area’s of the map.
  • Locating Points of Interest and Vistas.
  • Tripping over World-Events.
  • Jumping around like a crazy person.
  • Completing Skill challenges. (It gave me a math test! OUCH!)
  • Killing stuff that gets in my way.
  • Stumbling into “Heart” Quests/Events.
  • Occasionally doing my “Story Quest” (The only true quest I have).
  • WvvW
  • & Crafting.

There is just so much…

It’s a beautiful world, and it makes me want to explore it (unusual).

So today I wanted to share some of the screenshots I’ve taken since I began.

 

 

I wasn’t even level 20 when I walked into this room and encountered death. You could say the 15 or so people waiting to be helped up off the ground should have warned me – but I wanted to see what had caused the chaos. It’s hard to get a picture of a champion fire-elemental that looks GOOD. You might as well be trying to snap pictures of a campfire hoping one will be perfect. This particular one spawned when the “Thermanova Reactor Cheanup” event-chain failed. Otherwise this room is just filled with random mobs, like wolves, ice-creatures, and things you just don’t expect to see in the green-jungle like Metrica Providence.

 

 

I went swimming with a humpback whale. Sea-turtles, Whales, and Dolphins all appear to be protected species in GW2 – they all show up as green named. Meaning friendly and un-attackable. I have yet to run into a corrupted evil whale boss.

 

 

Seeing me with the whale I look ridiculously small. It’s not un-true, I am constantly blaming my short legs for why I can’t jump up places as efficiently as everyone else. I decided to play an Asura, that little thing standing next to Ice Hole is me Siori. Ice Hole on the other hand is playing a Guardian, and decided to max out how big the tallest-looking race could get. He’s playing a Norn. Everything else falls somewhere in between.

 

 

I frequently loose sight of myself amid things taller. Like flowers, and wheat-fields.

 

 

Tequatl the Sunless takes to the air as he’s about to die. This is only the second dragon I’ve seen to fight – the Shatterer looked much more skeletal than Tequatl does. It can be difficult fighting a dragon when you’re tiny and running around. It’s entirely too easy to get lost inside the ability-effects from others, not to mention the dragons moving around. It’s kinda distubing realizing your standing UNDER a dragons belly, or wing when he’s moved.

 

 

I went to the Stychs today; A part of the Mount Maelstrom zone. It was dark, and storming. Clouds racing over head, fat droplets of rain splashing into the water below – quite realistically.

I couldn’t help myself. I stood there to watch the storm and soon enough…

 

 

It was sunny skies once more.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

